Faux Painted Granite (Countertop) Tutorial

5 Feb

Does anyone else have countertops in the kitchen or bathroom that they just can’t stand to look at anymore? Well, we did and I decided something HAD to be done. When we bought our house 1 1/2 years ago I thought I could put up with the countertop in our master bathroom, but oh I was wrong.

It was wooden (Why? I’m not sure!) and had been painted white. But here’s the problem…makeup residue shows up drastically on white and this DIY hair dyer has a tendency to get hair dye all over the place. These two aren’t normally an issue and can usually be cleaned easily and quickly, but the wood had not been sealed well and stained as soon as something hit it. So…I had to find a solution that was cost effective and didn’t require a lot of demo.

I came across an article in a This Old House magazine of a man who decided to paint his laminate counter tops to mimic the look of granite. It listed the material + costs and overall it sounded like a pretty great idea that would fit into my requirements (cost effective & no demo). I went online to find a tutorial on how to do it and came across this. I also “pinned” it to Pinterest for easy access and to share it with my friends.

After sharing my renovations plans, several friends asked for pictures of the after products. Well, I decided to do you one better and show you just how I did it. Here’s MY tutorial on faux painted granite countertops:

{Here’s the before…it doesn’t look too shabby from this pic, but what you can’t see are the make-up and hair dye stains}

{You’ll need to start with a clean countertop so grab a degreaser.  Next, use a fine grit sandpaper (350 preferably) to roughen up the surface to help the paint stick (I used 150 but that’s all I had).  Be sure to completely clean the dust before painting.}

{Next, tape off the counter and anything else you don’t want to get paint on using painter’s tape.}

{Before Drew and I started this project we took a trip to Home Depot and Hobby Lobby to grab a few supplies.  At Home Depot we bought some Helman’s Spar Urethane ($17) and a sponge brush (.69 cents) to seal the countertops, a sea sponge ($8) to paint with and a sample of a faux granite laminate (FREE)  to use as our inspiration.  We then took the sample to Hobby Lobby  to find craft paint ($8) that matched the colors.  The total cost came to $33.69 + tax….I’d say that’s pretty awesome for the look of granite without the cost…but you can make that opinion for yourself once you see the results}

In this next picture you can see that I numbered the tops of each paint.  Here’s the order in which to paint:

1.)  Your base color will depend on the ultimate look your going for (dark, medium or light).  I used black and painted the entire counters will a couple of coats.

2.)  From here on out you’ll want to use your sea sponge.  This next color (gray) was the other dominant color so I chose to use more coverage….like this…

3.) A typical granite has at least 4 colors, but mine had 5 so the next color I chose was another mid-tone (caramel gray).  This color turned out more dominant than I expected and I ended up having to tone it down in the end.  (The good thing about paint is if you don’t like it, you can always paint over it.)

4.) The fourth color (lighter tan) can be sparse or have as much coverage as you desire.  I wanted to cover the caramel so I chose to go with more coverage.

5.)  According to the tutorial I originally referred to, the lightest color was supposed to be the final color, but I didn’t think this color gave it the finished look I desired from the sample so I chose to top it off with the chocolate brown.  I also used some black from the base to bring it all to a close.  By this point I was pleased with the outcome.

{Here you can see a picture of the original sample on top of the faux paint.  See if you can find it.  I’d say it’s

pretty camouflaged which means I can pat myself on the back!}

(The final step of this whole process is sealing the countertop with a Urethane.  The lady we spoke to at Home Depot suggested Spar Urethane because it supposedly holds up the best to water…I hope she’s right, but I guess we’ll see.  We gave it two coats and let it dry for 4 hours between each coat with a light sanding in between.  I’m sure another coat or two wouldn’t have hurt, but I was satisfied with only two.}

So without further ado, here’s the before and after….drum roll please!

I hope it met your expectations as it did mine, and I hope you’re able to try it out yourself!

If you have any questions let me know and I’d be happy to try and answer them for you!

-Bekah

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

